top of page

“Tests. All Tests!”

Written on 9/29/21


Ok, how do I communicate this connection jump in my head... My cousin Spoon loves this game! Something would be said or done and then I would speak my mind and immediately she would laugh and say, “Nope, break it down. That’s a leap, where's your logic?” We’d giggle and then I would have to explain step by step the thought process on how I got from Alabama to turkey sandwiches. So allow me to try and explain how I got to Horatio to find a Purpose.


Galatians 3:10-18 is Law and Promise with the commentary title on the left page, ‘Freedom From the Law’. Here’s the passage:


“10 For all who rely on the works of the law are under a curse, because it is written, Everyone who does not do everything written in the book of the law is cursed. 11 Now it is clear that no one is justified before God by the law, because the righteous will live by faith. 12 But the law is not based on faith; instead, the one who does these things will live by them. 13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, because it is written, Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree. 14 The purpose was that the blessing of Abraham would come to the Gentiles by Christ Jesus, so that we could receive the promised Spirit through faith.


15 Brothers and sisters, I’m using a human illustration. No one sets aside or makes additions to a validated human will. 16 Now the promises were spoken to Abraham and to his seed. He does not say “and to seeds,” as though referring to many, but referring to one, and to your seed, who is Christ. 17 My point is this: The law, which came 430 years later, does not invalidate a covenant previously established by God and thus cancel the promise. 18 For if the inheritance is based on the law, it is no longer based on the promise; but God has graciously given it to Abraham through the promise.”


What's my name? Everyone. Immediately, my attention was grabbed and indeed I recited my prayer: discernment, show me my heart, let me SEE what you want me to see, and call upon sister wisdom. Remember friends, do not read the Bible as it perceives to you, James 1:22, because that will deceive you and you might miss the lesson. Work those fears out with the Lord.


The other night, I was invited to my parents house for dinner with my sister and nephew. After a wonderful Pozole meal and a slight tantrum, Jaden said he wanted to watch the Little Mermaid. He hadn’t seen it before and was a little scared of the mermaids, he likes Luca though and those mer-people look scarier to me, but that could be the gender difference of preference I guess. Am I offending anyone with my cartoon prejudice towards fictional merfolk?


In the beginning scene where Sebastian gets announced for the concert, I thought I heard an inappropriate word. Wouldn’t surprise me being a 90’s kid to find hidden gems like that in Disney movies, but this was remastered. For anyone wondering, Sebastian’s full name is Horatio Thelonious Ignacious Crustaceous Sebastian. Horatio. Close one.


The next day, my mother and my aunt head to our favorite place to juice the creativity box - Hobby Lobby. Why there isn’t one in town is beyond me. We travel over an hour to get there and we always make a day of it starting with chatting over each other in the car. I keep mentioning tests, it’s all just a bunch of tests this life is. I failed on modesty based on my shopping cart. I love that place! We shop, get ideas, add projects, work up the appetite, find food, then return to get crafty!


My aunt suggests I watch her church’s message on YouTube from the Promise Center. Go to the Resource Tab to find their link. Why did he mention Horatio? That’s a very rare word and interesting timing to have it on my brain when learning about God, don’t you think? This sparked me to watch three of his past messages. Why did he say or mention that word? I really like the guy’s delivery too so he’s worth a watch - go check him out! He continues in one of the messages to explain ‘tests’... funny.


Galatians 3:14 is the verse that helps me put it altogether. The Purpose, again we’re seeing God, is intentional. Words, every single word, has significance. He explains it right there at Gal 3:16. The stress of not being righteous unless we follow all the rules is going back to that immense perfection pressure that is a gateway to a tantrum. I’m not saying, go and break the laws of the land, but learn to forgive yourself and to forgive others because most of our fear is false evidence appearing real. Let it go.


Verse 15 - No one gets to make changes to God’s Promises, not even the Law. YHWH intentionally made a covenant with Abraham to carry out the coming of Christ. Jesus intentionally came down to show us how to walk by faith. So here’s my jump to my purpose to change my life around from extremely poor decisions to a prosperous one of good decisions:


A negative decision is like a negative electron and two negative electrons attract what? Ironically, what do two positive electrons attract? The charges repel one another. Repel: drive of force, an attack or attacker, back or away - be repulsive or distasteful to. Interesting the result of so much conflict in my life. Not unified. For unity to be achieved, we must have a positive and negative charged electron. Weird, like we’re designed to combat one with the other using Love.


Purpose, the positive electron is attracting the negative to him. Seek him for electricity. Note to self: accept the fact that you're the negative electron.


Thank you Horatio!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page