top of page

“Shh.. It’s a Secret”

Written 10/01/21 - Late PM


I read Esther this morning, all ten chapters. I loved this movie growing up, Esther and the King, so I’m a little upset that the movie didn’t depict an accurate portrayal of the book. I go back and forth if movies help or not when acting out the scriptures. What do you think?


I came home after dinner with my family and reflected on what my mother said after I told her I read the book. She quotes, “such a time as this.” from Esther 4:14 the whole verse is like this:


“14 If you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance will come to the Jewish people from another place, but you and your father’s family will be destroyed. Who knows, perhaps you have come to your royal position for such a time as this.”


My mother continues to say, “That’s the most important line of the book, that and ‘If I perish, I perish.’”, from verse 16 like so…


“15 Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: 16 “Go and assemble all the Jews who can be found in Susa and fast for me. Don’t eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my female servants will also fast in the same way. After that, I will go to the king even if it is against the law. If I perish, I perish.”


This causes me to reflect on my notes and do some research on other historical records to get more information. Turns out there’s some controversy on Esther, Jewish congregations are even divided on this issue. Every source also mentions that God is nowhere mentioned in the book of Esther and Esther isn’t mentioned in the New Testament either. Wait why? He's not?


Esther 1:15,


“15 The king asked, “According to the law, what should be done with Queen Vashti, since she refused to obey King Ahasuerus’s command that was delivered by the eunuchs?”


Why is the King talking about himself in the third person? Why is there a lowercase king and an uppercase King? You’re right, “God” isn’t mentioned, but our God has many names doesn’t he? king of Kings, no? Do I need to enroll in English Lit?


Has anyone noticed that throughout the Bible he, his, him, none of his pronouns are capitalized. I have a literal card on my corkboard that says “Don’t capitalize on the Lord” followed by “Capital H.I.M.”, when I was reading Psalms and down the trail I go...

So here’s what I think: Lowercase king is God and he put things in motion because he knew of Haman’s plan and decision to annihilate the Jews. The book is written in a way that’s goes back and forth so the reader wouldn’t focus on that detail, but we know from books like Daniel and the Samuels that God was very much involved in the courts. He communicated with people until the people demanded human rulers and even then he communicated with all sorts of prophets. Again, the prophets left out of the book, I think, were because they didn’t follow his teachings in how to deliver his news.


I question my very writing at this moment if I’m overstepping a boundary. Readers, DISCERNMENT ALERT: This is just my opinion and trying to squeeze more truth out of the details. Another opinion thinks King Ahasuerus was just narcissistic. Do narcissistic Kings offer their wives, of which they only see quarterly, 5:3 - “Whatever you want, even to half the kingdom, will be given to you.”? He asks her that three times, twice in chapter 5 and once in chapter 7.


So when Queen Vashti refused the king, which king was she refusing and was that not on purpose to get the other King to favor this other Queen? That would make Mordecai’s comment more plausible, wouldn't it? How many times is "favor" mentioned in Esther?


The book also never mentions any Jews having died from the decree sent out by Haman of essentially, “The Purge”, I’m now seeing that particular movie isn’t original after all. However, when given the defense against anyone who showed them hatred, 75,800 men died in a matter of two days. Read that carefully, the 13th day of the month killed 75,500 and 300 on the 14th. Mind you, these men were full of hatred, rooted in evil. That’s some protection plan our Lord insurance has.


Read the book for yourself and please comment on enlightenment for us. I went back and highlighted every lowercase and added God’s name in there and again, he’s intentional, so why add the book to the Bible if he’s not mentioned? Why tell it? Why celebrate the victory? Could it be he was displaying his wonders for us to see and we’ve been so distracted to really see it? Don't get me started on what a Eunuch is.


One last question, what’s the meaning of Esther’s name and where did her name derive from?

 

Photo Taken on 4/16/2021 @ 6:46pm "Temple"

Can you guess what it is?


Writer's Note: I underwent a 12 week study on the Book of Esther in the middle of 2022 with about ten other women. You can imagine the rabbit trails we went on! it was so fun and I highly recommend it. Go to the Resource Tab and check out Beth Moore and Living Proof Ministries for her Bible studies. What an experience!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page