top of page

“Be Organic?”

Updated: Jul 23, 2022

Written 9/07/21

Organic: derived from living matter, affecting a bodily organ, marked by involving the use of fertilizers or pesticides that are strictly of animal or vegetable origin, raised without the use of drugs, hormones, or synthetic chemicals, simple, healthful, and close to nature, a substance, having properties associated with living organisms, resembling a living organism in development; interconnected, fundamental, relating to constitutional laws and precepts of a government.


Whoa, that’s a heavy definition wouldn’t you say? Does anyone feel close to organic today? Physically, mentally, or spiritually? I once worked for a Boutique shop and I can’t tell you how many times I heard that word being thrown around now wondering if anyone there actually knew what it meant. The owner is the best buyer I’ve had the pleasure of knowing, she has an eye for trends and she’s sharp with her direction. However, discernment, I was one confused cookie the moment I started working the floor. “Just be Organic.” Isn't the very concept of a fashion boutique is superficial? The third definition in the American Heritage Dictionary for Fashion is ‘the style of the social elite’. So only the elite are organic?


Those words stuck with me for years, what is being organic? What is organismal in this modern world? Has anyone achieved being organic organically?! The pressure to greet a certain way, to stand a certain way, look, but don’t look directly at them, only help if you think they're lawless, it was suffocating. My only feedback for improvement was, “be organic”. I keep wondering how many feel this way today, 'Be authentic because you should know how by now.' If we go down the line in the definition, maybe some can find their way back home to their roots.


Derived from living matter: Okay so existing. You take up space, so you’re automatically organic. Almost like on purpose.


Marked by involving the use of fertilizers or pesticides that are strictly of animal or vegetable origin: I have to be honest, ‘Marked’ is becoming an alarming word in this journey, but it’s organic. The ‘strictly’ insinuates that the very process had to be strict, probably because some individuals weren’t being organic about it. See, being organic is tough.


Raised without the use of drugs, hormones, or synthetic chemicals: How many kids are on some kind of synthetic chemical? How many are choosing hormones? How many revert to drugs? Are there organic kids left for this statistic? I grew up on processed foods that cause ADHD and food addictions so I’m legitimately wondering, who is organic today?


Simple, healthful, and close to nature: Simple? No. Healthful yes, it’s possible to achieve with the right wisdom and knowledge. Close to nature? Our very existence sets us apart from nature, ten stories up. I’m still not very organic. Even in the context, “be natural”, who is achieving naturalism in this materialistic world? Hippies.


A substance, having properties associated with living organisms: Another word for substance is essence. Spiritual essence maybe? We all have souls, right? Associated with the living... is anyone feeling alive lately or just dull? What’s missing? What was missing back then that I wasn’t ‘living’ up to their standards? That I wasn’t living up to my own potential? Anyone missing some essence? Some organic substance?


Almost done…


Resembling a living organism in development; interconnected: Okay, so this has to be the brain, I have one of those so I’m organic! Yay! Interconnected? I’m alone and single so feeling back to square one. What was your development like growing up as a child? Are you still growing up and feeling so interconnected that you can pridefully share some organic-ness? What is it we’re supposed to resemble? I understand this is hard to grasp that's why I’m questioning that very complexity.


Fundamental: Foundation, base, serving as an essential component of a system, central, of great significance, entailing major change, relating to the lowest possible frequency of a vibrating element or system, the first harmonic in a harmonic series, the lowest harmonic.


I can’t help but think if they called us “fundamental” during the pandemic what mockery would have followed. It’s FUN to be at risk! So to be organic, you have to be fundamental and to be fundamental you have to vibe with some kind of harmonic frequency even at your lowest. Now that I think about it, I may have been the only organic employee at that Boutique.


Relating to constitutional laws and precepts of a government: Also translated, relating to rules and particular conduct of government. It’s organic to obey. Ha! Anyone just leave the room after reading that one? Rebellious by nature I can say as a Christian, obedience is a challenge. How interesting though to see written in the fundamentals of our language that it’s organic, natural, to obey The Authority. Could it be that kids don't get along because they see the adults aren't getting along?


The more I seek wisdom as power, not necessarily knowledge - theorists have knowledge and are they leading to chaos? Wisdom. I left this one for last because I feel this is the cause of so much trauma in the world. I’m curious to know your thoughts and hope you reach out in the comments.


Affecting a bodily organ: Has stress kicked into your body somehow? Can anyone think of anything else today affecting bodily organs? Personally, as a Christian I can’t help but think my ‘spare tire’ waist is also directly related to Proverbs 18:8 which says, “A gossip’s words are like choice food that goes down to one’s innermost being.” translated to the chambers of the belly. I have a gut, I gossip, I’ll try to curb my appetite!


When I was taking entrepreneur classes, my college professor would educate us on the determination an entrepreneur would need to endure to succeed through this world’s challenges. For example, Heinz underwent severe boils from the stress of canning a tomato paste that he believed in. Do you have a Heinz ketchup bottle in your fridge? So the boils might have been worth it to crawl out of bankruptcy in 1875 because he started out pickling various things in jars and Ketchup used to be called Catsup. It wasn’t until he improved the recipe, changed the name, and hit the advertising jackpot to be a name brand, “It has to be Heinz.” I guess the point being, it’s organic to have something we manifest affect the bodily organs like gossiping, stress, and fear… awesome.


Words, they have meaning. They can be felt, they can hurt, they can also help us grow and mature. One comment can change someone's day, their choices, the outcomes. More importantly, words can love. They can tell the truth, they can save lives, they protect, prevent, and prosper.


To know how this world’s energy operates, I suggest going to the operator's manual. What book is the basic life instruction guide to this planet? To the youth, I organically wronged you by feeding into the bull of this world. Aiding the pendulum like it was life itself, additive vanity, the pride, the gossip, the fear, the stress, the "knowledge". Deep Breaths, Forgiveness - including yourself, and Don’t Give Up. This world needs your light more than you realize so learn how to turn your high beams up!


Go find the answers for yourself in the one place that’s never changed organically…

Hint: it's the Book. Head to the Resource tab for more information on how to be Organic!

 

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2002 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved.


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page