top of page

Hall Pass?

Written on 10/07/21


Matthew 5:37 -


“But let your ‘yes’ mean ‘yes,’ and your ‘no’ mean ‘no.’ Anything more than this is from the evil one.”


The more I discover myself the more I feel that the evil one is just the wrong wolf inside all of us. Like who is Satan really? Is it possible that we over dramatized him or have I watched too many episodes of Lucifer? Did you know that the actor that plays Lucifer in the Netflix series comes from a lineage of Pastors? His father and sister are both in ministry, the question was asked in one of the interviews associated with the show’s ‘Extras’ and that really had me pondering...


Why would he take on that role knowing his family was out in the world preaching for the opposite team unless they agreed with his choice? What does it mean if they agreed with his choice? Maybe they get a hall pass?


This morning I was to attend my Raga class where essentially we sit around stretching our vocals and practicing breathing techniques, very therapeutic. I had told my sister I was going to go and I believe I committed the week before to return as well. Holding true to the Sermon on the Mount’s verse above, I must go.


Last night I had a dream that I went to the Raga class and the leader of the class canceled mid-session due to her own vocals not being up to par. We all have those days where we’re a little groggy, our pitches aren’t perfect, strike outs occur, it’s not the best day. She dismissed the class and apologized and everyone went on their way. I remember feeling slightly disappointed only because it’s 25 minutes away so it’s quite a journey to get canceled while you’re sitting there and I really look forward to fine tuning my sound in a comfortable space with comfortable people.


That’s weird. Why would I dream that? Does the Lord give out hall passes? I took it as a hall pass and that the Lord has another plan for me. I sent a message to the host apologizing for my absence (that simple act is also new for me being that I’m less selfish with communication) and committing to the following week instead. I make my hot honey lemon water, start to write, open back to Nehemiah, but prayed the Lord’s Prayer first:


“Therefore, you should pray like this:


Our Father in heaven,

your name be honored as holy.

10 Your kingdom come.

Your will be done

on earth as it is in heaven.

11 Give us today our daily bread.

12 And forgive us our debts,

as we also have forgiven our debtors.

13 And do not bring us into temptation,

but deliver us from the evil one.


I read this passage back in mid-August almost two months ago now, and last night I was literally babbling and asking God for a reminder on how to pray. I have so much to pray for, but I feel like if he already knows what I’m gonna say - how can I summarize it and is that cheapening the prayers intent?

  • Do I recite each person by name and give the digest of what’s happening?

  • Do I repeat things in order?

  • Do I ask for treasures last or first based on priority?

  • If I leave someone out, is it condemnation?

  • Should I only be focusing on the one who has an immediate need?

  • Don’t forget your lineage, your carrot, your future, your stability, your immunity, your gifts and skills, your choices, your community….

  • Do I pray for Alaska?

  • Like what is it he needs to hear to make peace on earth - do that Lord, all of that, and is that all I need to say?

Since I know this prayer by heart, I only went to the Gateway App to cut and paste for efficiency and this is what caught my eye and the laughter naturally followed as I list these questions.


Matthew 6:5-8:


How to Pray (insert eye rolling emoji here)


5 “Whenever you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites, because they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by people. Truly I tell you, they have their reward. 6 But when you pray, go into your private room, shut your door, and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you. 7 When you pray, don’t babble like the Gentiles, since they imagine they’ll be heard for their many words. 8 Don’t be like them, because your Father knows the things you need before you ask him.”


Timing really is everything with this guy, ha! I should've just been patient and kept reading past Matt 5... Of course, there’s a literal section on how to pray! He already knows that these generations would ask that question. Thank you Yeshua for saving us both the time when we discuss what needs to happen for peace on earth as it is in heaven. Ironically, I just learned the other night how to say “hall” in Greek - χόλ, which sounds like ‘hoy’ spelled phonetically /hôl/ and now I’m given a dream of a possible “χόλ pass”.


If you read any of my other posts then you’re aware that I’m waiting on another word, or phrase, or advice, or clue from YHWH. I’ve had this feeling since it didn’t come to me on the date I suspected that I should go to a place remotely. One of my pastors mentioned going to the mountains and praising him through the A,B,C’s like it’s a little elementary, but many are infants in Christ so let’s give it a shot.


I’ve been gravitated to go to a specific foothill to a specific bench at a specific date and time.


I’m so curious as to why… life is so fun!

Photos Taken on 10/7/21 between 12:01pm and 1:49pm at Shiloh Ranch Regional Park.

 

Writer's Note 5/31/23


I'm a little late posting this blog to the site. It's been a few weeks since the last journal. I went to Blue Oaks church in Granite Bay last weekend visiting some family for Memorial Day. He preached on Matthew 6.


I just can't make this stuff up. Why would a preacher visiting from Atlanta preach on the very chapter (there are so many chapters to talk about) I'm stalling on? This isn't even my town! I wasn't even going to go, but then my mom mentioned they were going. The day before they were going to go to Adventure church.


Oh my Atlanta...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page